While preparing for the -WriMo’s, I came across a few tools that I didn’t use at that time and decided to give them a try. As I found them useful and am now using them everyday, I thought I might as well share them, and add others that may seen obvious but have also become part of my -WriMo’s routine. I will thus start with three today and add another two tomorrow.

1. 750 Words.com

750 Words is a website designed to encourage people to write everyday (preferably in the morning) about anything they have in mind, in 750 words or more, without any editing or censure (as each member’s writing can only be read by him- or herself), in order to get all parasite thoughts out of their heads and “get the ideas flowing for the rest of the day”.

Although I like this concept as I often have parasite thoughts that stick with me and alter my mood and ability to focus on other things, this is not why I use 750words.com. I may use it that way from time to time, but for now, it serves as a way for me to keep track of what I write each day and how many words I write.

Also, there are monthly challenges for which people have to sign up by defining what they will do if they write everyday for the whole month, and what they will do if they don’t. I saw this as a way to stay focused on the November -WriMo’s I decided to attempt, and signed up for the November challenge.

When I succeed, I will be on the wall of pride and treat myself to sushi; however, if I failed, which I won’t (right?), I would have to punish myself by picking a 750-words text in German and translating it into French. This may not be the worst thing that could happen to me, but you should know that my current German skills would make it a very difficult and time-consuming process.

2. Daytum.com

Daytum.com is another website with a different purpose, allowing you to track… well… numbers, sorted in categories, subcategories called items, and instances of each items called entries. For each entries, you can specify a date. Then, on your main page, you can display your data in different ways.

For instance, if you’d like to keep track of the food you eat, you could make categories like “vegetable” and “meat”, with items like “tomatoes”, “carrots” in the “vegetable” category and items like “chicken” and “beef” in the “meat” categories. Then, whenever you eat carrots, you would make a new entry for the item “carrots” specifying the number (or maybe weight) of carrots you ate.

On your main page, then, you might want to add a “vegetables” graph (showing which days you had vegetables, in which quantities, and what kind of vegetables you had) or display the number (or weight) of chicken you ate in the week, to show the world how much of a chicken lover you are. (I won’t judge you; I love chicken)

Of course, Daytum.com wouldn’t be on this list if it didn’t have anything to do with writing. So I use it to keep track of wordcounts, mainly “words written” and “words translated into French” (my main categories). For instance, for each blog post I write, I check the wordcount and add it to a new entry for the item “blog articles” in the “words written” category. My main page shows the total wordcount of each category.

3. Language resources and documentation

Of course, since I’m working on a translation work, I’m using many online translation tools. Bilingual dictionaries and bitexts, for once – I’ll probably make a list and introduce each of them when I have more experience using them. But also Wikipedia and any source that may come in handy. For instance, the official Office website to translate terms from PowerPoint’s interface.

Documentation could also become useful for NaNoWriMo; for instance, to describe an existing city, country or culture, or to get some information on a scientific principle, etc. It’s also great to find resources to help plot a story, create its characters, write its outline, etc. as many authors (both well-known and unknown, both good ones and bad ones) like to share tips on their blogs – and probably on the official NaNoWriMo forums.

